Telefono / Fax: +39 0174 92418

We Use Microbial Rennet

basinRennet is one of three fundamental ingredients needed to make cheese, the other two being whole milk and salt. It separates protein and fat present in the milk from the liquid part, the serum, so that it may be collected for the production of cheese. Traditionally rennet was extracted from the rumen (stomach) of calves, lambs or kids (baby goats), and this method is still used for all D.O.P. cheeses. Therefore cheeses made in this traditional way are not considered a vegetarian food. Nowadays, rennet is readily available as a vegetable or microbial extract. At Cora Formaggi we have decided to use only microbial rennet, so that vegetarians may also enjoy our cheeses.

Leave a Reply

Write Us